Hyperthermia

hyperthermie "Give me a means to create a fever, and I will cure any disease." This claim of the Greek philosopher Parmenides, coined 2500 years ago, shows that the effect of elevated body temperature, i.e. hyperthermia, is not an invention of modern times. Hyperthermia can be applied locally, regionally or systemically, i.e. to the entire body..


Hyperthermia is simply the overheating of the tumor cell. It has long been known that tumor tissue is particularly sensitive to heat. In the temperature range of 40-42 degrees, the cell membrane is damaged. To protect against cell death, tumor cells form so-called heat shock proteins (HSP) on their surface. These HSP cause changes on the surface of the cell walls of the tumor, and therefore the tumor cells lose their camouflage. They can be recognized and attacked by the immune system. Healthy cells are not attacked in this process.

In addition, cancer cells under hyperthermia respond much more sensitively to chemotherapy or radiation. (The effectiveness of these standard therapies is thus greatly enhanced by the combination with hyperthermia).

In our practice with its focus on complementary oncology, we offer our patients the following hyperthermia procedures:

  • Whole body hyperthermia
  • Locoregional radiofrequency-depth electrohyperthermia
  • Superficial hyperthermia

Hyperthermie

hyperthermie „Gebt mir ein Mittel, Fieber zu erzeugen, und ich heile jede Krankheit.“ Dieser Anspruch des griechischen Philosophen Parmenides, geprägt vor 2500 Jahren, zeigt, dass die Wirkung einer überhöhten Körpertemperatur, also Hyperthermie, keine Erfindung der Neuzeit ist. Hyperthermie kann lokal, regional oder systemisch, d.h. für den gesamten Körper angewandt werden.


Als Hyperthermie wird die Überwärmung der Tumorzelle bezeichnet. Seit langem ist bekannt, dass Tumorgewebe besonders hitzeempfindlich ist. Im Temperaturbereich von 40-42 Grad wird die Zellmembran geschädigt. Um sich vor dem Zelltod zu schützen, bilden die Tumorzellen auf ihrer Oberfläche so genannte Hitzeschockproteine (HSP) aus. Durch diese HSP kommt es an den Zellwänden des Tumors zu einer Oberflächenveränderung – die Tumorzellen verlieren somit ihre Tarnung. Sie können vom Immunsystem erkannt und bekämpft werden. Gesunde Zellen werden bei diesem Verfahren nicht angegriffen.

Darüber hinaus reagieren Krebszellen unter einer Hyperthermieanwendung sehr viel empfindlicher auf eine Chemotherapie oder Bestrahlung. ( Die Wirksamkeit dieser schulmedizinischen Standardtherapien wird somit durch die Kombination mit Hyperthermie verstärkt).

In unserer Schwerpunktpraxis für komplementäre Onkologie bieten wir unseren Patienten folgende Hyperthermieverfahren an:

  • Ganzkörperhyperthermie
  • Lokoregionale Radiofrequenz-Tiefen-Elektrohyperthermie
  • Oberflächenhyperthermie